university

50 things I remember about leaving home

While a bit behind on my 50 x 50 post about turning 50 (it’s hard work if you can get it), I’m reminded this bright September long weekend of my first foray in the big wild world. It was, ack, 31 years ago that I got on a Voyageur Bus and left North Bay for the University of Ottawa. I was so excited, so tired, so nervous and so sad all at the same time. I really feel for my friends and colleagues who face that very same ordeal with their own kids heading off to University – but hey – that’s the point, right? To get them ready for the big wide world.

  1. Packing clothes. What to bring? What to leave?
  2. Collecting phone numbers and addresses. Pre-smartphone days – remember those?
  3. Paperwork for school – holy nellie there were so many documents to bring.
  4. Setting up a bank account. My dad taught me how to use the oh-so-new bank machine thing-ma-bobber.
  5. Dishes, pots and pans. A girl’s gotta eat. My mom set me up with that stuff. Phew.
  6. Linen for my room. Yes, my own room to share with a total stranger who turned out to be awesome (thanks goodness)
  7. Trinkets, pictures, posters for my bulletin board.
  8. The line-up to pay for tuition. Weird concept after so many years of public education. Thanks Mom and Dad for that cheque too 🙂
  9. Getting a student card. I still remember my number.
  10. The bookstore. Wow. So expensive. Still expensive. Ouch. Probably why I still have those books all these years later.
  11. The English proficiency test at Ottawa U. I was enrolled in a French programme so I had to prove I knew English. Excuse me? Or should I say “Pardon”?
  12. Meeting my neighbour from Hong Kong. Wow. That’s far away. What was I worried about?
  13. First big grocery shop. How fun.
  14. Getting the groceries home. Not so fun.
  15. Leather school bag. My big indulgence. I still have that too.
  16. Meeting the other Parliamentary Pages. 10 pairs of nylons, ugly shoes and a custom suit.
  17. A pretend “formal dinner” with the Page Programme to teach us table etiquette. Lots of utensils.
  18. Getting my Parliament Hill ID – never to be forgotten or you didn’t get in.
  19. Memorizing all the MPs names. We had flash cards and used to quiz each other. Harvey Andre and Andre Harvey – no kidding – one of each.
  20. North Bay parties – the best ever.
  21. KD
  22. Bar 216 and the Equinox. A Blue Light was $2.15.
  23. Phoning home.
  24. Mail call was at 11 PM. We used to rush downstairs to check our mailbox.
  25. Getting a letter and sharing the news with our new friends.
  26. Walking along the Rideau Canal. Such beauty.
  27. Figuring out the quickest way to Parliament Hill. My record was 11 minutes. Beat that!
  28. Late night fire alarms.
  29. Taking the midnight bus home to North Bay. My friends would pick me up at 6 am and take me for breakfast.
  30. The Byward market in Ottawa. The best.
  31. $1.99 breakfasts at Father’s and Sons Restaurant.
  32. Watching the federal election results in the Opposition Lobby in the House of Commons – Sept 4 – tough night for the Liberals. Good lesson for me.
  33. The cinnamon buns in the cafeteria on the Hill.
  34. The beer vending machine in the press room. Not for me, of course.
  35. The computer lab in the basement of my residence. What planet was I on.
  36. Classes at 333 Tabaret Hall.
  37. Realizing that when there are 300 kids in a class, profs don’t take attendance (as an aside, now that I teach, I take attendance).
  38. Drop dates. We paid attention to those.
  39. Johnny’s Pizza.
  40. Exams in a giant gym.
  41. Crushes, drama, residence.
  42. The turkey shoot – most students would go home on Thanksgiving and break up with their boyfriend/girlfriend. Better prospects?
  43. Listening to music with floor mates who had good stereos.
  44. Late night phone calls.
  45. The swimming pool and the gym.
  46. Realizing that most of the learning in University happens by meeting people, not reading books.
  47. Having to say goodbye to my little brother.
  48. Waving goodbye to my parents.
  49. Feeling like I could make a difference.
  50. Believing everything was going to be okay. I miss that.

 

Standard

Leave a comment